RayNeo GT Max —  Up to 307" display, 59° FOV, native 3DoF. Learn More

Table of Contents

    RayNeo rates the RayNeo iO’s display at 1,300 nits of eye-level brightness. That exact phrase, eye-level brightness, appears on RayNeo’s product page and in its official launch materials, and it’s doing more work than it looks like. It tells you where in the optical path that number was measured, not just how much light the display can put out.

    Most display specs you’ve seen on a phone or a laptop just say “nits” or “peak brightness,” measured straight off the panel. RayNeo’s iO spec adds a qualifier because of how its display actually works: a MicroLED light source projects light through a diffractive waveguide lens, and by the time that light reaches your eye, it has traveled through several more layers of optics than a phone screen ever has to. Eye-level brightness is RayNeo’s way of specifying the number that matters for what you actually see, not the number the light engine starts with.

    iO’s 1,300-nit eye-level brightness rating is useful for comparing specifications, but it is not a direct-sunlight readability test. Outdoor visibility also depends on ambient light and the scene behind the transparent lens. Compare brightness figures on the same measurement basis rather than ranking every model by its raw nits number.

    Eye-Level Brightness vs. Panel Brightness: What the Difference Actually Means

    RayNeo’s 1,300-nit figure for iO is measured at the eye, not at the display panel, and that distinction exists because of how far iO’s light has to travel before you see it. A MicroLED source generates the image first. That light then passes through a diffractive waveguide combiner etched into the lens before it reaches your eye. Panel and eye are two different points along that path, and for iO specifically, the brightness reading at each point isn’t the same number.

    Diffractive waveguide combiners, the optical technology iO uses, are not perfectly efficient: some portion of the light they carry is lost to diffraction and redirection rather than reaching the eye directly. If RayNeo had quoted iO’s raw panel output instead of its eye-level figure, the number on the spec sheet would look higher, but it would overstate what you actually see once the glasses are on your face.

    By labeling its figure “eye-level brightness” rather than a generic panel nits rating, RayNeo is specifying that iO’s 1,300 nits is already the post-waveguide, what-you-actually-experience number, not the light engine’s theoretical output before any of that light crosses the lens. RayNeo hasn’t published the exact test methodology behind that figure, including viewing distance or ambient lighting conditions during measurement, so treat it as the manufacturer’s rated spec rather than a figure you could reproduce in an independent lab.

    Why iO’s Display Is Monochrome, and How That Connects to Brightness

    iO’s display is monochrome, not full color. That single-channel design decision is relevant to brightness, not incidental to it.

    iO uses a monochrome green MicroLED display for text, captions, and interface elements, rather than a full-color panel for video. Its 1,300-nit eye-level rating describes display brightness; it does not, by itself, establish a power-efficiency advantage over RayNeo’s other display technologies.

    That efficiency shows up elsewhere in iO’s spec sheet, too:

    • Optical engine (Firefly Nano Optical Engine): 0.085cc
    • Battery: 240mAh, rated for up to 48 hours of typical daily use

    A full-color MicroLED display pushing the same eye-level brightness would typically need more power to do it, which is one reason monochrome panels show up often in glasses built around all-day battery life rather than color-accurate video.

    The tradeoff is the one you’d expect: iO shows notifications, captions, and dashboard text in a single color rather than full color. For glanceable text, icons, and live captions, color isn’t doing much work anyway, so the display’s job is less about rendering color and more about staying legible against whatever’s behind it.

    RayNeo iO AI glasses with the lens display lit up, showing the monochrome interface for voice assistant and dashboard text

    The Rest of iO’s Display Spec, for Context

    Brightness is one number among several that together describe how iO’s display behaves. A few others worth knowing:

    • Active Display Transparency: 97% (RayNeo’s product imagery further splits this into greater than 97% transparency in the area where the display pattern is etched into the lens, and greater than 98% in the rest of the lens). This is what keeps the lenses looking close to ordinary clear glass when the display is off.
    • Field of view: 23.5 degrees. This is a narrow FOV by AR-glasses standards, consistent with a display meant for glanceable overlays rather than a wide immersive screen.
    • Color accuracy: Delta E < 2.52, a measure of how closely displayed colors match their intended values. Lower Delta E means less visible color shift, though this matters less on a monochrome panel than it would on a full-color display.
    • “33-inch display” equivalent, RayNeo’s shorthand for what the image looks like in scale: the product page describes it as equivalent to viewing a 33-inch screen from 2 meters away.

    None of these change the 1,300-nits figure directly, but they explain why that brightness number is paired with a lens you can still see through clearly, rather than a darker, more light-blocking display surface.

    Close-up of RayNeo iO’s Blue Lake lens showing 97% transparency, illustrating how the display stays nearly invisible when not in use

    Does 1,300 Nits Eye-Level Brightness Work in Direct Sunlight?

    This is the practical question behind most “how many nits” searches, and the honest answer has two parts.

    The 1,300-nit rating alone does not establish readability in direct sunlight. A near-eye display’s visibility depends on ambient light, the background seen through the lens, contrast, and how the display aligns with the wearer’s eyes. Phone-screen brightness thresholds are not a pass/fail test for this optical system.

    A near-eye waveguide display doesn’t compete with ambient light the same way a phone screen does. iO’s lens is 97% transparent, which means in bright outdoor conditions, almost all of the sunlight behind your field of view reaches your eye directly, alongside whatever the display is showing. A highly transparent lens is good for keeping the glasses looking normal and not like sunglasses, but it also means the display image has less of a dark background to stand out against outdoors than it would indoors or in shade.

    Treat direct sunlight as a separate use condition from indoor or shaded viewing. The 1,300-nit rating and 97% lens transparency describe different properties, and neither establishes that captions will remain readable in every outdoor setting. If outdoor captions are your priority, test them in the lighting where you expect to use the glasses.

    How iO’s Brightness Compares to RayNeo’s Other Models

    RayNeo doesn’t use the same brightness metric across its entire lineup, which makes a direct side-by-side comparison less useful than it first appears. Every current model publishes a nits figure, but the point in the optical path where that figure gets measured isn’t always labeled the same way, so the raw numbers below aren’t interchangeable.

    Model Display technology Published brightness figure Measurement basis
    RayNeo iO Monochrome MicroLED + diffractive waveguide 1,300 nits Eye-level, measured after light passes through the waveguide
    RayNeo X3 Pro Full-color MicroLED + diffractive waveguide 3,500 nits avg. / 6,000 nits peak Not specified in the current product page’s brightness row
    RayNeo Air 2s Full-color Micro-OLED + birdbath optics 600 nits (Key Specs) / 5,000 nits (marketing copy) Not specified; the two figures on the same product page carry no stated measurement point
    RayNeo Air 3s Full-color Micro-OLED + birdbath optics 650 nits To-eye, per RayNeo’s own labeling
    RayNeo Air 3s Pro Full-color Micro-OLED + birdbath optics 1,200 nits To-eye, per RayNeo’s own labeling
    RayNeo Air 4 Pro Full-color Micro-OLED + birdbath optics 1,200 nits Not specified; RayNeo’s product page doesn’t label this as panel, peak, or to-eye
    RayNeo GT / GT Max Full-color Micro-OLED 336 nits (Pinned mode); 1,200 nits (Non-Pinned mode) Perceived brightness, mode-dependent on top of that

    The pattern worth noticing:

    • RayNeo X3 Pro: avg./peak figures are considerably higher than iO’s on paper, but RayNeo’s current X3 Pro product page doesn’t label those figures as panel or eye-level, so they aren’t directly comparable to iO’s labeled eye-level reading.
    • RayNeo Air 3s and Air 3s Pro: labeled “to-eye brightness,” which puts them on roughly the same measurement footing as iO’s eye-level spec.
    • RayNeo Air 2s: its product page states 600 nits in one place and 5,000 nits in another, with no measurement point given for either.
    • RayNeo Air 4 Pro: its 1,200 nits carries no stated measurement point.

    None of that makes any of these numbers wrong. It means several of them are answering a different question than “how bright does this look to the wearer,” which is the one question iO’s spec is built to answer directly.

    X3 Pro’s average and peak ratings cannot be translated into a direct visual advantage over iO without comparable test conditions. Air 3s Pro’s to-eye rating is a closer type of measurement, but its different optics, background transmission, and viewing purpose still prevent a simple claim that the two look equally bright.

    The GT series figures come from yet another display technology (full-color Micro-OLED viewed without a diffractive waveguide) built for a much wider field of view and larger virtual screens, three preset sizes up to 307 inches on GT Max, so its brightness needs and measurement conditions aren’t solving the same problem iO’s display is. For a full breakdown of how GT and GT Max differ from each other, see our GT vs GT Max spec comparison. For how iO’s battery life breaks down across its own features, including how the monochrome display factors into its power budget, see our iO battery life explainer.

    Why You Might See Different Brightness Numbers for iO Online

    RayNeo’s official August 2026 press release and its current iO product page both state 1,300 nits eye-level brightness, and that’s the figure to treat as current. Search around early coverage of the glasses, though, and you’ll run into at least one other number attached specifically to iO: a hands-on impressions piece published around launch quoted a tester describing the display “at its maximum, 1200 nits,” during a brief outdoor test where some text remained visible against a bright sky.

    That 1,200-nits mention is worth flagging for a specific reason: don’t confuse it with the 1,200 nits that’s RayNeo’s own published spec for the separate GT and GT Max models (specifically, perceived brightness in Non-Pinned display mode, shown in the table above). The two numbers describe different glasses running different display technologies, iO’s monochrome MicroLED waveguide versus GT’s full-color Micro-OLED, and only the GT figure is RayNeo’s own stated spec. The 1,200 figure that shows up in early iO hands-on coverage hasn’t been confirmed by RayNeo and doesn’t appear on the current iO product page.

    A handful of other iO brightness numbers circulate in early coverage and aggregator listings beyond 1,300 and 1,200 nits. Where those come from isn’t always traceable to a clear, checkable source, so if you’re comparing figures from different places, the product page is the one to trust.

    FAQ

    Is 1,300 nits bright for a pair of smart glasses?

    It is an eye-level brightness rating for iO’s near-eye display, not a guarantee of visibility in every setting. Perceived brightness does not increase in direct proportion to a nits number. Ambient lighting, background contrast, and fit determine how easily captions and notifications can be read, especially in direct sunlight.

    Does the monochrome display make iO’s content harder to read than full color would?

    iO is designed to show green text, captions, and interface elements rather than full-color video. Readability depends on brightness, fit, ambient light, and the background visible through the lens. Monochrome output alone does not establish better or worse readability than a full-color display.

    Can I manually adjust iO’s brightness?

    Yes. RayNeo’s iO support page documents voice-controlled brightness adjustment (“brighter,” “dimmer”) as part of the glasses’ voice commands, so 1,300 nits eye-level brightness is iO’s rated maximum rather than a locked single value. The product page doesn’t publish the number of discrete brightness steps or whether there’s an ambient-light sensor driving automatic adjustment, so for the exact adjustment range and interface, check RayNeo’s current support documentation.

    Is iO’s display bright enough to watch video outdoors?

    That’s not the question iO’s display is designed to answer. Its narrow field of view and single-color panel are sized for glanceable overlays, not full-screen playback, so brightness alone wouldn’t fix the mismatch even outdoors. If outdoor video and movie-watching are the actual goal, RayNeo’s GT series is built around that use case instead, with a wider field of view, full-color panel, and its own brightness spec (covered in the comparison table above).

    Does RayNeo publish a brightness figure for the X3 Pro or Air series glasses?

    The comparison table lists brightness figures for each model, including the measurement labels supplied with them. These labels are not uniform across the lineup. Compare eye-level figures with eye-level figures where available; an unlabeled nits value is not enough to establish which glasses will look brightest to the wearer.

    Bottom Line

    RayNeo’s 1,300-nits eye-level brightness figure for iO is a more specific spec than it first looks like: it describes brightness measured closer to what your eye actually perceives, after light has traveled through the waveguide optics, not the raw output of the display panel before any of that. The monochrome display behind that number trades full color for lower power draw and a brighter, more efficient use of the light the human eye is naturally most sensitive to. Whether that holds up specifically in harsh midday sun is the one condition the spec sheet doesn’t answer directly, as covered above.

    Sources:

    Select Lens and Purchase