
Can RayNeo AR Glasses Connect to ROG Ally and Other Windows Handheld Gaming PCs?
- by NeoKnox
Both the ROG Ally and ROG Ally X have a USB-C port that supports DisplayPort Alt Mode, the same video standard RayNeo GT and GT Max read directly from a phone or laptop with no adapter in between. That comes from ASUS’s own spec sheet.
What’s less settled is whether RayNeo lists ROG Ally for GT and GT Max specifically. Neither product’s compatibility table names ROG Ally, ROG Ally X, or any other Windows handheld. A separate RayNeo compatibility page for its Air series glasses (Air 2, Air 2s, Air 3s, Air 3s Pro) lists ROG Ally X, ROG Ally Z1, and ROG Ally Z1 Extreme by name as compatible handhelds, alongside Steam Deck and other Windows handhelds. Air series glasses use the same direct USB-C video connection, so that list is a useful data point, though not a confirmation for GT and GT Max. This guide covers what ROG Ally’s port supports, what RayNeo has documented, and what changes in practice because ROG Ally runs Windows 11 rather than SteamOS.
The original ROG Ally has a single combo port that ASUS’s spec sheet describes as a “ROG XG Mobile Interface and USB Type-C combo port.” That one port handles both standard USB-C video output and the proprietary ROG XG Mobile Interface; it isn’t two separate connectors. ROG Ally X has two distinct USB-C ports. Both handhelds run Windows 11 Home with ASUS’s Armoury Crate SE overlay.
| Port spec | Original ROG Ally | ROG Ally X, Port 1 | ROG Ally X, Port 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB standard | USB 3.2 Gen 2 | USB4, Thunderbolt 4 compliant | USB 3.2 Gen 2 |
| DisplayPort support | DisplayPort 1.4 Alt Mode | DisplayPort 1.4 Alt Mode | DisplayPort video (version not specified by ASUS) |
| Power Delivery | Not specified by ASUS | Power Delivery 3.0 | Power delivery (version not specified by ASUS) |
| Battery capacity | 40Wh | 80Wh | 80Wh |
In practical terms, a ROG Ally port can carry video and power to GT or GT Max over the USB-C cable that ships in the box, the same mechanism the glasses use with a MacBook or a modern Android phone. GT and GT Max have no battery of their own and depend on the connected device for video and power over that single cable. The batteries listed above can run a game and drive an external display at the same time for a while, covered below.
RayNeo’s documentation names ROG Ally, but for the Air series rather than GT and GT Max. The table shows which handhelds appear on which page.
| Handheld | Air series compatibility page | GT / GT Max compatibility pages |
|---|---|---|
| ROG Ally X | Named by model | Not named |
| Original ROG Ally (Z1 and Z1 Extreme configurations) | Named by model | Not named |
| MSI Claw 8 AI+ | Named by model | Not named |
| MSI Claw ATM | Named by model | Not named |
| AYANEO, Acer, OneXPlayer, and AYN handhelds | Named (brand level) | Not named |
| Lenovo Legion Go | Not named | Not named |
| Steam Deck | Named, in the direct-connection handheld list | Named, under the “HDMI Devices” category (see the Steam Deck section below) |
| Generic “USB-C handhelds” category | Not used on this page | Named as a catch-all, no specific models listed |
RayNeo’s compatibility page carries a “Compatible Handheld Console List” built around the Air series. GT and GT Max’s own tables name specific phones and laptops alongside the generic “USB-C handhelds” line and the HDMI Devices grouping covering PS4, PS5, Xbox, and Steam Deck, but not ROG Ally.
Air series glasses connect over the same direct USB-C video link as GT and GT Max, so RayNeo naming ROG Ally for one of its lines is a useful starting point. What’s missing is a GT- or GT Max-specific statement. If you’d like that in writing, ask RayNeo support (see the FAQ below).
Steam Deck’s USB-C port supports DisplayPort Alt Mode at the hardware level, like ROG Ally’s, and RayNeo describes it in three ways:
See the guide to connecting RayNeo glasses to Xbox, PlayStation, and Steam Deck for more on what that means for a Steam Deck owner. For ROG Ally, the takeaway is that a direct connection is plausible and worth trying first, but not something to assume will work before you’ve tried it.
The DisplayPort Alt Mode standard doesn’t depend on the operating system. If ROG Ally’s port negotiates a video connection with GT or GT Max, the cable-level handshake works the same way as on a Steam Deck or a Windows laptop. The difference is how each operating system treats an external display once connected.
Plug an external display into a Windows PC, handheld or otherwise, and Windows may extend the desktop across both screens rather than switching to just one. After connecting GT or GT Max to ROG Ally, you may need to open Windows display settings (or press the Windows key + P) and choose “Second screen only” or “Duplicate” to show what you want on the glasses.
Game behavior adds another layer. Many PC games use the resolution and refresh rate of whichever display Windows considers primary at launch, and some use exclusive fullscreen modes that don’t always handle a display change after launch. If a game starts on ROG Ally’s own 7-inch screen before you’ve set the glasses as the display target, you may need to alt-tab out, change the in-game display settings, or restart the game. That’s standard Windows external-display behavior, not a RayNeo-specific quirk.
ROG Ally’s built-in screen and the GT/GT Max panel share the same resolution and refresh rate:
| Device | Native display resolution | Refresh rate |
|---|---|---|
| ROG Ally / ROG Ally X (7-inch screen) | 1920x1080 | 120Hz |
| GT / GT Max (2D mode) | 1920x1080 | 120Hz |
| Steam Deck | 1280x800 | Different aspect ratio from GT/GT Max’s panel |
That doesn’t guarantee what signal reaches the glasses, since the output format is whatever your Windows display settings and the game are configured to send. The external display’s resolution and refresh rate are set separately from the handheld’s built-in screen.
In a direct USB-C connection with nothing else plugged in, ROG Ally’s own battery powers both the handheld and the glasses, the same mechanism RayNeo describes for any direct connection: “the connected device powers the glasses and processes video, so slight warmth and increased battery consumption are normal.” Expect faster battery drain than running the same game with nothing plugged into that port.
ROG Ally X’s 80Wh battery, double the original ROG Ally’s 40Wh, gives more runway in this configuration, though neither RayNeo nor ASUS publishes a combined runtime figure. Actual drain depends on the game, its graphics settings, and brightness.
If keeping the handheld’s battery topped up matters more than a single-cable setup, use a USB-C dock or accessory that passes video from the handheld to the glasses and also supports USB-C Power Delivery charging. Not every USB-C hub does both, so check that the accessory’s output supports video for glasses and charging for the handheld.
Neither ROG Ally model has a native HDMI output. If a direct USB-C connection doesn’t produce a picture, the fallback runs through the RayNeo HDMI Adapter, the same accessory RayNeo uses for PS4, PS5, Xbox, and desktop PCs without USB-C video output.
Because ROG Ally doesn’t output HDMI on its own, you’d first need a USB-C-to-HDMI adapter or dock to get an HDMI signal out of the handheld, before that signal feeds the RayNeo HDMI Adapter. That’s one more piece of hardware than a PS5 or Xbox setup needs.
RayNeo’s materials describe the HDMI Adapter’s power in two ways: “powered by the source device” on one page, and a separate USB-C PD charger plugged into the adapter on another. The guide to connecting RayNeo glasses to Xbox, PlayStation, and Steam Deck covers that in more detail.
If you’re buying GT or GT Max mainly to use with a ROG Ally, check RayNeo’s current return policy before ordering, and keep the original packaging and accessories until you’ve confirmed the setup works the way you want. Try the direct cable first, since it needs nothing beyond what’s in the box.
ROG Ally isn’t the only Windows handheld with a USB-C port that supports DisplayPort Alt Mode. MSI’s Claw lineup (Claw 8 AI+ and Claw ATM) is named on RayNeo’s Air series compatibility page and absent from the GT and GT Max tables, the same as ROG Ally. The hardware compatibility and Windows display behavior covered above apply to MSI Claw the same way.
Legion Go isn’t on any RayNeo compatibility list we checked. If you own one, check that its USB-C port supports DisplayPort video output and confirm with RayNeo support.
Both models connect to ROG Ally the same way, so the choice comes down to fit and screen size.
| Spec | GT | GT Max |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $299 (list $329) | List price $429; $399 with the launch discount applied at checkout |
| Field of view | 46 degrees | 59 degrees |
| IPD fit | One fixed 64mm design | Three IPD sizes (S/M/L) selected at purchase |
| Weight | 68g | 78g |
| Virtual screen presets | 136 / 201 / 231 inches | 227 / 267 / 307 inches |
GT Max’s wider field of view and larger screen presets may suit longer sessions, and the S/M/L sizes let you match your IPD at purchase. GT’s lighter 68-gram frame is the trade-off for a narrower field of view and a single fixed IPD.
Both run a 1920x1080 panel at 120Hz in 2D mode and share a physical Spatial Mode button on the frame that cycles through three viewing modes. These are 3DoF modes, which respond to head rotation rather than tracking your position in a room:
For a seated session at a desk, Pinned mode’s fixed placement is a reasonable fit for game play, though you can try each mode to see which you prefer.
Does RayNeo officially support ROG Ally?
Will I need to buy anything extra to try a direct connection?
Is ROG Ally X better suited to this than the original ROG Ally?
Does Legion Go or MSI Claw work the same way?
If I want certainty before buying GT or GT Max for ROG Ally, what should I do?


Share:
RayNeo Wired vs. Wireless Glasses: What the Cable Actually Means
RayNeo Air 3s Pro Display Resolution Explained: 1920x1080 (2D) and 3840x1080 (3D)